Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Tan Sri Lee Loy Seng Grand Prix 3rd Leg

160 players took part in the 2nd leg in Bagan Serai.  85 were under 12 and 33 under 16 years old.  Hopefully the keen interest among the young will produce champions in future.

After 2 rounds, the standing for the Grand Prix points are as follow.
12 points: Jason Teh Chee Ying
10 points: Amirul Rahini bin Shamsudin, Muhammad Hazim bin Muhamad, Chuah Heng Meng
9 points: Fong Yit San
8 points: Lim Kian Hwa, Chuah Yi Ning
7 points: Cheah Yew Tuck, Radin Shafierul bin Radin Yahaya
6 points: Azmi Ishak
5 points: Zubir bin Othman, Noor Ahmad Fazilah
4 points: Ahmad Mudzafar bin Ramli
3 points: Saiful Azlan Atan Abd Lahad, Ang Zhen Yuan
2 points: Fong Yit Ho
1 point: Mohd Fadzil bin Abd. Rahman Nazri
Since a player can score a maximum of 10 points per round, the race for the 8 Grand Prix prizes ( 1st prize = Rm800.00) is wide open.

The 3rd leg will be in Slim River on 15 May 2011.  
Venue: SMK Agama Slim River
Contact persons: Yunus (013-3908129) or Uztaz Ismail (019-5520391) or Abu Bakar (014-2510852)
Or pay to Perak International Chess Association Maybank account 0-08177-318240 and fax to 05-2419289 or email to
Clsoing date: 12 May 2011
The entry form with the details is below

Sunday, April 10, 2011

Results of 1st leg Tan Sri Lee Loy Seng Chess


Sunday 10th April at CRC, Taiping

1                    Chuah Heng Meng
2                    Fong Yit San
3                    Lim Kian Hwa
4                    Cheah Yew Tuck
5                    Zubir Othman
6                    Azmi Ishak
7                    Fong Yit Ho
8                    Muhammad Hazim b Mohamad

1   Jason The Chee Ying
2   Ang Zhen Yuan
3   Ee Kong Yun
4   Ooi Boon Hao
5   Lim Chuin Khai

U-16 Girls
1   Fairuz Hamizah Ahmad Fuad
2   Fong Mi Lyn
3   Tan Su Sanne

1   Muhammad Nurihsan Yahya
2   Muhd Syahidullah Ahmad Kamal
3   Ang Zhen Wei
4   Nirvan Ganapathy
5   Muhammad Arif Wafi b Ahmad Sabir

U-12 Girls
1   Kelly Lim Pei Ying
2   Nur Islamurni bt Yahaya
3   Jamie The May Shuen

2nd leg Tan Sri Lee Loy Seng Chess 2011

The 2nd leg will be held in Bagan Serai on 24 April 2011
 The 1st leg in Taiping drew a tremendous response and 217 players filled the hall to capacity.  Judging by the encouraging number of early registrations (more than 20 with 2 weeks to go), the 2nd leg is expected to be just as successful.
 The entry form is posted below. 

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Tan Sri Lee Loy Seng Chess Grand Prix 2011

With the kind sponsorship from Kuala Lumpur Kepong Berhad, the Tan Sri Lee Loy Seng Perak Grand Chess Championship 2011 will continue to be held this year.

This championship is held in memory of the late Tan Sri Lee Loy Seng.  Tan Sri Lee Loy Seng is the founder of Kuala Lumpur Kepong Bhd, one of the leading plantation owning companies and based in Ipoh, the capital of the state of Perak in Malaysia.

Last year, the inaugural Championship was played over 9 legs in 7 different towns in 7 different districts in Perak.  Over 900 players took part, some coming from other states.
This year's championship kick off at the Taiping Chinese Recreation Club on 10 April 2011.  Below is the entry form with details inside.  Please download and follow the instructions in the form.

Monday, March 14, 2011

PICA/YMCA Chess Tournament

Date: 27 March 2011at 9.00a.m.
Venue: Dewan YMCA, Jalan Raja Muda Aziz (Jalan Anderson), Ipoh

Entrance fee: PICA/YMCA member and under 15 : Rm 10.00
                     Others Rm 15.00 (Bank a/c Maybank 0-08177-318240)

Prizes: No.1 Rm 150 + Trophy
                 2 Rm 120 + trophy
                 3 Rm 80 + trophy
                4 Rm 60
                5 Rm 50
                6 Rm 40
                7 Rm 30
                8 Rm 30
                9 Rm 20
               10 Rm 20
Trophies for best and 2nd for U-12 boys, U-12 girls, U-15 boys, U-15 girls, U-18 boys, U-18 girls and veterans
Certificates of participation for all players
Contact : Yunus : 013-3908129 or fax bank-in slip to 05-2419289
Closing date: 25 March 2011

Thursday, March 10, 2011

Early announcement

The 2nd Tan Sri Lee Loy Seng Chess Championship will be held again this year.

The 5 legs will be tentatively held on these dates:

Taiping: 10 April
Kerian: 24 April
Slim River: 15 May
Kampar: 19 June
Ipoh (Grand Final): 10 July

Further announcements will be made.

Thursday, February 24, 2011

Perak Junior Championship 2011
Date   :  (Saturday ) 5 March 2011/ 8.00 am
venue :  Dewan Perbadanan Perpustakaan Awam Negeri Perak, Jalan Caldwell, Ipoh.
Contact : En Yunus Sharif 013-3908129  or
                    En. Kamaruddin-Phone No. 019-4316793 E-mail Add:
                    Fax No. 05-547 5033
Closing date:  2 March 2011.
Below are the details